Traditional Set Dances

There are seven traditional Irish set dances that are commonly known by all dancers worldwide. Although there are some variations these dancers all follow the same core choreography and are danced to specific tunes of the same names. These dances originated from the old days of Irish dance and were taught by the ‘dance masters’ who travelled the country of Ireland in the 17th & 18th centuries. These dances are still very much part of traditional Irish dances today.

7 Traditional Set Dances

St. Patrick’s Day
The Blackbird
Garden of Daisies
Job of Journeywork
King of the Fairies
3 Sea Captains
Jockey to the Fair